Skip to content

Female Genital Mutilation

Female Genital Mutilation

Female Genital Mutilation (FGM) is a term which covers all procedures involving partial or total removal of the female external genitalia or other injury to the female genital organs for non-medical reasons defined by the World Health Organisation (WHO).

FGM is classified into four different types. These range from the more common partial or total removal of the clitoris and/or its prepuce to the most horrific form known as infibulation; which consists of narrowing the vaginal opening with the creation of a covering seal.

To find out more, visit the WHO website (External link).

Tackling FGM requires co-ordination of the four Governments in the UK and is lead by the Home Office.

Letting people know

Do you think a friend or family member needs help?

Find out how to spot the signs and symptoms and support someone in need of help.

Find out more

Advice for professionals

Advice for professionals

Find information, advice and training to help you provide support to people suffering with domestic abuse, violence against women or sexual violence.

Find out more


Related links

If you have experienced FGM or are afraid that you are at risk of having FGM performed on you, there are people that can provide help and support, in confidence.
If you know someone who has experienced FGM or are concerned that someone you know is at risk of having FGM performed on them, there are things that you can do to help and people that can provide you with advice and support, in confidence.

About Live Fear Free

Live Fear Free is a Welsh Government website, providing information and advice for those suffering with violence against women, domestic abuse and sexual violence.

More information

  • You can follow us on Twitter & Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Facebook